About Streetlights

The County of Los Angeles Department of Public Works administers 99,700 streetlights within the 20 County Lighting Maintenance Districts for the unincorporated County area and the 19 cities listed below. Approximately 62,842 street lights are in the unincorporated areas of the County and the remaining 36,858 street lights in the cities. Southern California Edison owns and maintains the majority of the streetlights within the unincorporated County and the streetlights we administer for the cities.
  • Agoura Hills
  • Bell
  • Bell Gardens
  • Calabasas
  • Carson
  • Diamond Bar
  • Industry
  • La Cañada Flintridge
  • La Mirada
  • La Puente
  • Lawndale
  • Lomita
  • Malibu
  • Monterey Park (certain areas)
  • Paramount
  • Rolling Hills Estates
  • South El Monte
  • Walnut
  • Whittier (certain areas)
Benefits of Street Lighting
  • Safety
  • Neighborhood enhancement
  • Crime deterrent
  • Promotes nighttime business activity
  • Increases nighttime visibility for motorists and pedestrians